Australasia's Premiere Masters Cycling Event

Event postponed to 17 - 19 July 2020.

The inaugural Australasian Masters Cycling Championships will race over three days in New Zealand's scenic Wairarapa region.

What is it...

New Dates - Following the government announcement of 16 March regarding the cancellation of public events and the current situation with COVID-19, we have decide to postponed the Australasian Masters Cycling Championships to the weekend of 10-12 July, the new date is now a week before the New Zealand Age Group Championships set for 17-19 July.

Friday 10th July – Registration at the Copthorne Hotel & Resort – Masterton
and Hill Climb Championship.
Saturday 11th July – Criterium Championship.
Sunday 12th July – Road Race Championshis.

When is it...

The event will be held over the weekend 10-12 July 2020.
Register on line Here

Where is it...

The event will take place around the Wairarapa region, a stunning region known for its wine and food, rugged coastline, forest parks and cycle trails and located just over an hour’s drive or train ride from Wellington city.



Event One - Hill Climb Championship

Date: Friday 11th July 2020
Distance: 10.0kms - Same distance for all grades.
Start time: 10.00am
Start: Admiral Hill Rd – Carterton
Finish: Top Admiral Hill.
Riders will start from the bottom of Admiral Hill Rd at 30 seconds interval. Start times will be back to front on race manual.

Screen Shot 2019-07-15 at 3.49.03 am
Screen Shot 2019-07-15 at 3.49.55 am

Event Two - Criterium Championship

Date: Saturday 11th July 2020
Distance; Riders will race for 45 minutes plus 3 laps on a completely closed circuit
Start times:

Event 1 Men’s Masters 6-7-8 – 20mins plus 1 lap

Event 2 Women’s Masters 6-8 - 20mins plus 1 lap

Event 3 Men’s Masters 3-4-5 - 30mins plus 1 lap

Event 4 Women’s Masters 3-4-5 - 30mins plus 1 lap

Event 5 Men’s Masters 4 - 30mins plus 2 laps

Event 6 Women’s Masters 1-2 - 40mins plus 2 laps

Event 7 Men’s Masters 2 - 40mins plus 3 laps

Event 8 Men’s Masters 1 - 40mins plus 3 laps

Course: Masterton Motorplex circuit


Event Three - Road Race Championship

Date: Sunday 12th July 2020.
Carrington circuit - Gladstone
Distances: Circuit - 12 km per lap.

Start Time: First race start 9.00am

Event 1 – Men’s Masters 6-7-8 – 48km (4 Laps)

Event 2 – Women’s Masters 6-7-8 - 48km (4 Laps)

Event 3 - Men’s Masters 3-4-5 – 60km (5 Laps)

Event 4 - Women’s Masters 1-2 – 72km (6 Laps))

Event 5 -Women’s Masters 3-4-5 – 60km (5 Laps

Event 6 - Men’s Masters 1-2 – 84km (7 Laps

Screen Shot 2019-07-15 at 3.54.11 am
carrington 1


The event is open to all cyclists over 35 years of age as at 31st December 2020. This is an individual event.

Australian riders - The New Zealand National Age Group Road Championships running from 17 to 19 July 2020 in Waipukurau, is open to New Zealand and Australian riders.

All Australian riders must have a current 2020 Cycling Australia domestic license and appropriate travel insurance to cover riding and racing while in New Zealand. Riders must be prepared to provide proof of insurance if required. 

Waipukurau is approximate 90 minutes’ drive from Masterton. Come and have two full weekends of great cycling and a holiday at the same time!

We will recognised UCI Age Groups for man and women in our event next year, they are:
Master 1 35-39 years
Master 2 40-44 years
Master 3 45-49 years
Master 4 50-54 years
Master 5 55-59 years
Master 6 60-64 years
Master 7 65-69 years
Master 8 70+ years


Depending on number of entries and logistics for the criterium and road races championships, some grades will have to race as one bunch but riders will race against riders of their own age group.  Races will be:

Race One: 35 to 39 and 40 to 44
Race Two: 45 to 49 and 50 to 54
Race Three:  55 to 59 and 60 to 64
Race Four: 65 to 69 and 70 plus

Please Note - This apply to both man and women.

Enter online now.