Australasia's Premiere Master's Cycling Event

Over Easter weekend in 2020 the inaugural Australasian Master's Cycling Championship will race over four days in New Zealand's scenic Wairarapa region.

What is it...

The 2020 Australasian Masters Cycling Championships will be a series of three races over four days.
Friday 10th April – Registration at the Copthorne Hotel & Resort – Masterton
Saturday 11th April – Hill Climb Championship.
Sunday 12th April – Criterium Championship.
Monday 13th April – Road Race Championshis.

When is it...

The event will be held over Easter weekend 10-13 April 2020.
Register on line Here

Where is it...

The event will take place around the Wairarapa region, a stunning region known for its wine and food, rugged coastline, forest parks and cycle trails and located just over an hour’s drive or train ride from Wellington city.



Event One - Hill Climb Championship

Date: Easter Saturday 11th April 2020
Distance: 10.0kms - Same distance for all grades.
Start time: 10.00am
Start: Admiral Hill Rd – Carterton
Finish: Top Admiral Hill.
Riders will start from the bottom of Admiral Hill Rd at 30 seconds interval. Start times will be back to front on race manual.

Screen Shot 2019-07-15 at 3.49.03 am
Screen Shot 2019-07-15 at 3.49.55 am

Event Two - Criterium Championship

Date: Easter Sunday 12th April 2020
Distance; Riders will race for 45 minutes plus 3 laps on a completely closed circuit
Start Times:
10.30am Masters Race Four
11.30am Masters Race Three
2.00pm Masters Race Two
3.00pm Masters Race One
Course: Masterton Motorplex circuit


Event Three - Road Race Championship

Date: Easter Monday 13 th April 2020.
Carrington circuit - Gladstone
Distances: Circuit - 12 km per lap.

Start Time: To be confirmed.
Race One;
Men - 84km (7 laps)
Women – 60km (5 laps)
Race Two;
Men - 72km (6 laps)
Women – 60km (5 laps)
Race Three;
Men - 60km (5 laps)
Women – 48km (4 laps)
Race Four;
Men - 60km (5 laps)
Women - 48km (4laps)

Screen Shot 2019-07-15 at 3.54.11 am
carrington 1


The event is open to all cyclists over 35 years of age as at 31st December 2020. This is an individual event.

Australian riders - The New Zealand National Age Group Road Championships running from 17 to 19 April 2020 in Waipukurau, is open to New Zealand and Australian riders.

Waipukurau is approximate 90 minutes’ drive from Masterton. Come and have two full weekends of great cycling and a holiday at the same time!

We will recognised UCI Age Groups for man and women in our event next year, they are:
Master 1 35-39 years
Master 2 40-44 years
Master 3 45-49 years
Master 4 50-54 years
Master 5 55-59 years
Master 6 60-64 years
Master 7 65-69 years
Master 8 70+ years


Depending on number of entries and logistics for the criterium and road races championships, some grades will have to race as one bunch but riders will race against riders of their own age group.  Races will be:

Race One: 35 to 39 and 40 to 44
Race Two: 45 to 49 and 50 to 54
Race Three:  55 to 59 and 60 to 64
Race Four: 65 to 69 and 70 plus

Please Note - This apply to both man and women.

Enter online now.